Hearing The Lord Each Day

Screen shot 2015-03-07 at 2.24.25 PM

By Mary Young Robinson

 

Psalm 147: 3-5  (ESV)

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. He determines the number of stars; He gives to all of them their names. Great is our Lord and abundant in power; His understanding is beyond measure.”

 

Healing. I thought I had made much more progress than was evident and understood what true healing meant. And then so unexpected, I felt an old wound surge with a twinge of pain that I thought was forever gone. Was I wrong? Was I still plagued with the same old despair and sin that I thought I gave to God?

On a particular Sunday morning I began to wonder about being healed and if it really was a forever state.   Does emotional and spiritual healing come and go? Sometimes triggers I have felt in life seemed like a “recall”. Of course, memories are sometimes joyful and sometimes sad. I felt dumped on this morning.

Cruising towards the church, I approached the uphill parking lot. Already a little late and hurrying up the drive, I knew that the Holy Spirit was touching me. There was a sore feeling pressing in my soul at first, but it wasn’t a bad thing.

What I sensed at that moment was that He wanted me to remember some things for a reason. He wanted to remind me of where I had been and where I was now. He showed me that no matter what pain I feel or felt in the past, that He is always with me, and helping me with the process. No matter how long it takes!

Encouragement filled me. I was reminded that I should never try to second-guess God’s reasons. Even though it is my own desire to let go of particular pain in my life, whether physical, spiritual or emotional, it may not be God’s plan to relieve me of it fully. Or, He might not take the pain away for a long time. He has His reasons for allowing me to feel and remember things. And knowing that He is in control, gives me peace.

People usually mean well when they inquire about our journey, but God may have a plan that no one suspects for us. If you stay depressed and it is affecting your life in a dramatic way, then maybe talking to a Pastor or Christian Counselor is a good idea. Otherwise, serve your Lord, pray and minister to someone and trust Christ to meet your needs based in His timing.

Leave a Reply

