So, Where Do You Fit?

Screen shot 2014-11-15 at 12.52.04 PMSo, you could be ANY age and be in this crowd, couldn’t you? Football seems to be popular at any age, any sex, or education level. I bet you there’s a baby tucked in there somewhere nestled near its Mom or Pop or maybe GranPop.

Lately I have been trying to determine where I fit in the world. I am over 55 (under 100) but I am partially Disabled. In my mind some days I feel 16 but sometimes I feel 80. I look in the mirror and think, well, I’m no spring chick but I am not shriveled up either.

So when I hear people talk about the elderly, seniors, middle-age, I am looking for my place. I have heard some people call me and my over 70 husband elderly. That doesn’t fit a man who hikes over 100 miles most years in the mountains of Idaho with Goats. And with my dark hair and flair for dress, it really doesn’t suit me either. Nevertheless, I have to admit I am growing older.

I was reading an article in a sample magazine this week that I received and while finishing up a particular story I saw near the end a chart naming age groups. Now I get it. This might not be the only list but it was good enough to help me understand why people use the group names that they do.

The group of ages 18-29 are the “Millennials” @ 35%. The group of 30-48 are “Busters” @49%, then my group are 49-67 called “Boomers” @55% (we get blamed for almost everything!). And then coming in last is the… “Elders” from 68-Methuselah @63%.

But we both know that this is only based on age, not activity, looks or medical details. I am willing to put you in an Optional group like “Brillant” if you will put me in an optional group like “Creatively Young” (my maiden name).  After all, we are all in this together, with families of all ages with unique gifts. Please don’t call me elderly until I am dead. Thank you.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “So, Where Do You Fit?

  1. “AGE” …. It is just a number. More important is how you act … Your attitude and to some extent how you feel. I know there are physical limitations that come about as we mature but “where we fit” is better defined by how we spend our time and energy and not by the number of candles on our cake!

Leave a Reply

