Every Day

Lakeside_SunriseIt seems like many of us forget when we are trudging through our life, that every day is a new journey, battle, and adventure. Sometimes we tend to look back at yesterday and carry it again. That was yesterday. God said that each day would have enough trouble of its own. Why would we choose to carry our “stuff” from yesterday into this new arena?

Every day we should start that day with a perspective of taking care of that day’s business. No carry overs, no tomorrow stuff, just what is on the calendar today, whether it be prayer calendar or appointments.

God gives us a new, clean slate when we become a believer. But He also gives us a new slate every day as we begin with praise for the sunrise, clouds, rain, or sunset. Every thing allowed in that day is for a reason. You may not see it at the time. or maybe never understand. Still, make the time fruitful and stand in that day’s life events.

Clarence Enzler, Christian Catholic, writes back in 1986, and publishes “Everyone’s Way of the Cross“.

As Christ: “This cross, this chunk of tree, is what my Father chose for me.

The crosses you must bear are largely products of your daily life. And yet my father chose them, too, for you.

Receive them from His hands.

Take heart, my other self, I will not let your burdens grow one ounce too heavy for your strength.”

As I reply: “My Jesus, Lord, I take my daily cross.

I welcome the monotony that often marks my day, discomforts of all kinds, the summer’s heat, the winter’s cold, my disappointments, tensions, setbacks, cares.

Remind me often that in carrying your cross,
I carry yours with you. And though I bear a sliver only of your cross,
You carry all of mine, except a sliver, in return”.

Leave a Reply

