Today I Worshipped

When I was a little girl attending church on Sunday mornings I remember singing “Holy, Holy, Holy” probably more than any other song.  I am now so thankful for that as I believe at an early age I grasped the Holiness of my God and Savior.  It was written by Heber during the years of 1783-1826.  This morning, we sang it for our first hymn.  I am 61.  Doesn’t it give you cold chills to think of all the people who have sung this song in adoration?

Then today we moved on to a song written in 2003.  “My Heart is Filled with Thankfulness“. by Keith Getty & Stuart Towned

“My heart is filled with thankfulness to Him who bore my pain; Who plumbed the depths of my disgrace and gave me life again.

Who crushed my curse of sinfulness and clothed me in His light, and wrote His law of righteousness with pow’r upon my heart.”

 

We all struggle with the woes of this natural life.  Oh, if I could in all honesty say these words every day with no anxiety or fear.  In the year 1876, the sister of a missionary to China who died a martyr, wrote the words to a song so loved.   Jean Sophia Pigott, “Jesus, I am Resting”

“Jesus, I am resting, resting, in the joy of what thou art,  I am finding out the greatness of your loving heart.  You have bid me gaze upon You and your beauty fills my soul, for by your transforming power, You have made me whole”

 

The ending of my Sunday was tucking my 94 1/2-year-old Christian mother into bed at the Assisted Living before returning home.  The perfect ending to a perfect Sunday.

 

 

 

One thought on “Today I Worshipped

  1. Hi Mary,
    Thanks for your comment on my blog about torch enamelling!
    You can buy the max flame butane torches in the US, a lot of the jewellery sites sell them or you could try ebay or amazon. It would be cheaper than buying from the UK.
    If you have any more questions about torch enamelling let me know 😀
    Best Wishes,
    Tracy
    Cinnamon Jewellery

Leave a Reply

